Lawrence Schools Foundation
Who We Are


The Lawrence Schools Foundation is committed to enriching the education provided to all students by the Lawrence Public Schools. Through the generation and management of gifts, we seek to promote and enhance:

  • a strong relationship between our community and the Lawrence Public Schools
  • innovative teaching-learning opportunities, the recognition of teachers, and development of staff
  • effective early childhood programs
  • recognition and encouragement of student achievements



The Foundation began in 1983 as the Carl Knox Endowment Association in honor of Dr. Carl Knox, the retiring Lawrence School Superintendent, as a way to make a lasting and meaningful contribution to educational opportunities for students in the Lawrence Public Schools. The association later changed its name to the Lawrence Schools Foundation and became a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.

2014 Board of Trustees

Martin Moore President
Gail Vick Vice President
Tom Hornbaker Treasurer
Mark Heider Secretary
Ginger Wehner LEAP Council Chair
Hank Booth Trustee
Mark Buhler Trustee
Julie Carter Trustee
Marilyn Dobski Trustee
Jill Fincher Trustee
Sandra Gautt Trustee
Evan Ice Trustee
Charlotte Lauts Trustee
Susan McElwain Trustee
Scott Morgan Trustee
Darcey Soto Trustee
Anna Stubblefield Trustee
Robin Ward Trustee
Jeff Weinberg Trustee
David Williams Trustee
Pam Zenger Trustee
Dr. Rick Doll Ex-Officio
Rick Ingram Ex-Officio
Susan Esau Executive Director



Susan Esau, Executive Director
Donna Morris, Administrative Assistant



Lawrence Schools Foundation 110 McDonald Drive, Lawrence, Kansas 66044 Phone 785-330-2790